Switchfoot Release New EP

NEWS SOURCE: Marketwired
September 2, 2014

NEW YORK, NY–(Marketwired – Sep 2, 2014) – Atlantic Records group Switchfoot has announced the release of a new EP, “THE EDGE OF THE EARTH: UNRELEASED SONGS FROM THE FILM ‘FADING WEST.'” The 7-track EP — which features previously unavailable material not included on the GRAMMY® Award-winning band’s chart-topping “FADING WEST” (see tracklisting below) — arrives on the iTunes Store and all leading digital retailers on September 9.

“THE EDGE OF THE EARTH: UNRELEASED SONGS FROM THE FILM ‘FADING WEST'” will be available just in time for Palladia’s world television premiere of Switchfoot’s first feature film, 2013’s acclaimed Fading West, set for Saturday, October 4th (check local listings). Furthermore, an exclusive online presentation of Fading West will stream Wednesday, September 10th at noon Pacific via The Inertia: Surfing’s Definitive Community. The film will then be available for streaming on the site for the following 24 hours. For complete details, please see www.theinertia.com.

Equal parts rock doc, pan-cultural travelogue, and surf film, Fading West follows Switchfoot during their hugely successful 2012 World Tour, traveling the globe in search of musical inspiration and the perfect wave. Directed by Matt Katsolis, the film further charts the creation of what ultimately became the San Diego-based band’s ninth studio album, “FADING WEST.” Packed with jubilant live footage, exclusive interviews, and stunning locales, Fading West provides an intimate and unprecedented look at Switchfoot at home and on stage, in the studio and out on the waves.

Fading West is now available to stream via Netflix, as well as across all leading US Video On Demand platforms including iTunes, Amazon, Instant Video, Cable Movies on Demand, Google Play, Xbox Video, Sony PlayStation, CinemaNow, and VUDU with digital entertainment curator, FilmBuff. In addition, Fading West is available for instant streaming and DRM-Free HD download directly via Switchfoot’s own fadingwest.switchfoot.com.

FADING WEST” made a spectacular top 10 debut on the SoundScan/Billboard 200 while also arriving at #1 atop Billboard’s “Top Alternative Albums.” “When We Come Alive,” the latest single from “FADING WEST,” is currently ascending at Hot AC radio outlets nationwide; the track’s companion video will premiere next week.

“FADING WEST” sees Switchfoot infusing a stunning array of new sounds and influences into their trademark brand of bold rock ‘n’ roll. Songs like “Love Alone Is Worth The Fight” and the top 15 Alternative radio smash, “Who We Are,” are energized by inventive rhythms and daring electronics while still bearing the powerful guitars, anthemic harmonies, and hopeful messages that have long marked Switchfoot as one of the most enduring and empathic bands of the modern era.

Long hailed as an electrifying live act, Switchfoot has just resumed its massively popular “Fading West Tour,” with US dates now scheduled through November (see itinerary below). The trek includes both headline shows as well as appearances at such major festivals as Tempe, Arizona’s Summer Ends Music Festival v.1 on Saturday, September 27th and Las Vegas’ Life is Beautiful Festival on Friday, October 24th. For regularly updated details and ticket information, please visit www.switchfoot.com/c/tourdates.

Switchfoot is without question among the most compelling and globally successful bands in contemporary rock. With total worldwide sales fast approaching 6 million, albums like 2003’s 2x RIAA platinum certified breakthrough, “THE BEAUTIFUL LETDOWN,” and 2009’s GRAMMY®-winning “HELLO HURRICANE” — not to mention a run of multi-format rock radio hits that includes “Meant To Live,” “Stars,” “Mess of Me,” “The Sound (John M. Perkins’ Blues),” and “Dark Horses” — have earned the band a truly international fan following and widespread acclaim for crafting uplifting and emotionally intelligent rock ‘n’ roll. What’s more, Switchfoot is a hard touring live powerhouse, traveling nearly non-stop with visits to five continents in the last two years alone. Every year the band take a break from their relentless touring schedule to host the famed Switchfoot Bro-Am Surf Contest, an annual event that has raised more than $1,150,000 for San Diego-based children’s charities since its 2005 inception.

Switchfoot: Jon Foreman (lead vocals, rhythm guitar) * Tim Foreman (bass) * Chad Butler (drums) * Jerome Fontamillas (keyboards, rhythm guitar) * Drew Shirley (lead guitar).

For more information, please visit www.switchfoot.com and www.atlanticrecords.com.

Release Date: September 9

1. Fading West
2. Against The Voices
3. Skin and Bones
4. What It Costs
5. Slow Down My Heartbeat
6. Liberty
7. The Edge Of The Earth

Fading West Tour

6 Orlando, FL Universal Studios
12 Syracuse, NY Landmark Theatre
13 Centreville, VA Awakening Festival
14 Bloomsburg, PA Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
19 Bourbonnais, IL Olivet Nazarene University
20 Grand Rapids, MI Calvin College
21 Maryland Heights, MO Verizon Wireless Amphitheater St. Louis
27 Tempe, AZ Summer Ends Music Festival

4 Loveland, CO Budweiser Events Center
10 Spring Arbor, MI Spring Arbor University
11 Appleton, WI Fox Cities Performing Arts Center
12 Canton, OH Canton Palace Theatre
24 Las Vegas, NV Life is Beautiful
31 Azusa, CA Azusa Pacific University

1 San Diego, CA Open Air Theatre
7 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue
8 St. Cloud, MN St. Cloud River’s Edge Convention Center
9 Bemidji, MN Sanford Center
15 Burleson, TX Venue 510
16 San Antonio, TX The Aztec Theater
17 Waco, TX Waco Hall